ROH Name Participants In Rearranged Pure Title Tournament

ROH announced earlier this year that they would be bringing back the Pure Title for the first time since 2006. Despite the tournament being postponed in March, it will now begin later this month.

ROH Pure Tournament Logo

Earlier this year, Ring Of Honor announced they would be resurrecting their Pure Title. The new champion was due to be crowned in a tournament starting in March.

This would crown the first champion since the belt was retired following a unification match in Liverpool, England in 2006 between then ROH Champion Bryan Danielson (Daniel Bryan) and Nigel McGuinness.

The tournament was postponed when ROH cancelled all events in as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

It has been announced today that the postponed tournament will begin when their TV tapings resume later this month.

The company have also named 10 of the 16 competitors that will be taking part in the tournament. Those competitors are:

— PJ Black
— Tony Deppen
— David Finlay
— Jonathan Gresham
— Jay Lethal
— Rocky Romero
— Matt Sydal
— Tracy Williams
— Josh Woods
— Wheeler Yuta

The tournament to crown the inaugural champion took place in 2004 and saw AJ Styles defeat CM Punk in the final. Subsequent champions included Samoa Joe, Jay Lethal and Doug Williams.

The Pure title was previously contested under its own unique set of rules. ROH have confirmed these rules will be bought back for the new version of the title. These rules are as follows:

What Happened In The Arena While WWE SmackDown Cut To Rolling Loud Festival?

— Every match begins and ends with the Code of Honor handshake.

— Each wrestler has three rope breaks to stop submission holds and pinfalls. After a wrestler exhausts his rope breaks, submission and pin attempts on or under the ropes by his opponent are legal.

— Closed-fist punches to the face are not permitted; only open-handed slaps or chops to the face are allowed. Punches to other parts of the body are permitted, excluding low blows. The first use of a closed fist will get a warning; the second will be a disqualification.

— As in standard ROH matches, there will be a 20-count when a wrestler is on the floor.

— Outside interference will result in automatic termination from the roster for the wrestler that interferes.

— There will be two blocks, single-elimination format.

 — Round 1 matches have a 15-minute time limit.

— Block semifinals have a 20-minute time limit.

— Block finals have a 30-minute time limit.

— The tournament final has a one-hour time limit.

— There will be three judges for each match, and time-limit draws will go to a judges’ decision.

Click Banner For Ticket Info

SummerSlam Banner