Multiple Title Changes At NJPW Summer Struggle

In only the second outdoor show in NJPW’s history, there were five title matches and many of the belts changed hands.

NJPW Summer Struggle 2020 Logo

New Japan presented Summer Struggle in Jingu Stadium yesterday – their first event in the outdoor stadium for 21 years.

Many titles changed hands during the event, most notably Tetsuya Naito regaining both the IWGP Heavyweight and Intercontinental Championships from EVIL.

EVIL won the belts following winning this year’s New Japan Cup, with help from Dick Togo who was also at ringside for this match.

Also at Summer Struggle, Toru Yano won the first King Of Pro Wrestling Cup, getting the victory in a four-way contest including Kazuchika Okada, El Desperado and SANADA.

Minoru Sukuzi captured the NEVER Openweight Championship from Shingo Takagi, whilst Taiji Ishimori was successful in his IWGP Jr Heavyweight Championship match against title-holder Hiromu Takahashi.

This means the only successful championship defence on the show was made by Zack Sabre Jr and Taichi, as they retained the IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championships against Hiroshi Tanahashi and Kota Ibushi.

In the only non-title match at the event, Yoshinbou Kanemaru defeated Master Wato.

Peacock Reaches Huge Milestone, And Confirms A UK Launch On Sky

Click Banner For Ticket Info

SummerSlam Banner