On This Day In Wrestling History… November 18th

On this day in wrestling history, one of the most dominant groups in wrestling history, The Shield, makes their WWE debut.

The Shield Powerbomb Ryback

Credit: WWE

1938 – ‘The Golden Greek’ Jim Londos defeated Bronko Nagurski in Phladelphia to win the Undisputed World Championship. Londos would be champion until he retired eight years later in 1946.

1992 – WCW Clash Of Champions XXI was held in Macon, Georgia. In a “Ghetto Odds” 2 on 3 Handicap Tag Team match Ron Simmons and 2 Cold Scorpio defeated Cactus Jack, The Barbarian and Tony Atlas. This was the WCW debut of 2 Cold Scorpio and also the debut on any American wrestling show of the 450 splash which Scorpio used to get the pin.

1995 – ECW November to Remember took place in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The show opens with Buh Buh Ray Dudley pinning Broad Street Bully in 57 seconds and follows this with Konnan defeating Jason Knight in just 14 seconds. In the hard hitting main event Terry Funk and Tommy Dreamer get the win over Cactus Jack and Raven after Funk gets the pin on Raven.

2001 – Survivor Series took place in Greensboro, North Carolina. The show marked the end of the ‘InVasion’ storyline between WWE and the WCW/ECW Alliance. The card saw a number of title unification matches and a ‘winner takes all’ main event.

  • WCW United States Champion Edge defeated WWF Intercontinental Champion Test to unify the belts.
  • WCW Tag Team Champions The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray and D-Von) defeated WWF Tag Team Champions The Hardy Boyz (Matt and Jeff) in a steel cage title unification match.
  • Trish Stratus defeated Ivory, Jacqueline, Jazz, Lita and Mighty Molly in a Six-Pack Challenge to win the vacant WWF Women’s Championship, which had been vacated by Chyna in May when she left the company as champion.)
  • Team WWF (The Rock, Chris Jericho, The Undertaker, Kane and The Big Show) defeated The Alliance (Steve Austin, Kurt Angle, Booker T, Rob Van Dam and Shane McMahon) in a “Winner Take All” Survivor Series match following a double cross on Team WWF by Jericho, who attacked The Rock followed by another double cross by Angle on Austin, leading to Team Alliance taking the loss.
Enter Our WWE Hell In A Cell 2021 Predictions Contest

2007 – At the American Airlines Arena in Miami, Florida WWE held their annual Survivor Series PPV. On the show Randy Orton defeated Shawn Michaels to retain the WWE Championship and the main event saw Batista and the Undertaker compete for Batista’s World Heavyweight Championship inside Hell in a Cell. Following interference from a returning Edge, Batista would retain and walk out as champion.

2012 – WWE Survivor Series was held in Indianapolis, Indiana. The main event of the night was WWE Champion C.M. Punk defending his belt in a triple threat match against John Cena and Ryback. Towards the end of the match three men dressed in black jumped the rails and attacked Ryback, powerbombing him through the announce table. Michael Cole on commentary recognised the men as NXT wrestlers Dean Ambrose, Seth Rollins and Roman Reigns who would later be announced as The Shield and go on to dominate the WWE as a group and as individuals for years to come. Because of the interference Punk would manage to pin Cena to retain the championship.

2013 – Big E Langston defeated Curtis Axel to win the WWE Intercontinental Championship from Raw in Nashville, Tennessee.

2018 – WWE Survivor Series took place at The Staples Center, Los Angeles, California. The theme of the night was Raw vs. Smackdown and the headline bout saw Universal Champion Brock Lesnar defeat the WWE Champion Daniel Bryan.

On This Day In Wrestling History… June 16th

Notable Wrestling Birthdays:

  • Taiyo Kea (1975)
  • Tomoaki Honma (1976)

Click Banner For Ticket Info

SummerSlam Banner