On This Day In Wrestling History… May 30th

On 30th May in wrestling history, we take a look back at Sonjay Dutt winning the IMPACT! X Division Title on his 35th attempt, 14 years after joining the company.

Sonjay Dutt

Credit: Impact Wrestling

1973 – At a television taping in Hamburg, Pennsylvania, Tony Garea and Haystacks Calhoun defeated Professor Tanaka and Mr. Fuji to become the WWWF Tag Team Champions.

1981 – In Charlotte, North Carolina, Sweet Ebony Diamond (Rocky Johnson) defeated Greg Valentine to win the NWA Television Title for the second time in just over a month.

1986 – In Houston, Texas, a One-Night Tournament was held to crown the first ever Universal Wrestling Federation Heavyweight Champion. In the finals Terry Gordy was victorious against Jim Duggan and would hold the belt until injury forced him to vacate it in November the same year.

1992 – In Mayagüez, Puerto Rico, Dick Murdoch won the WWC Television Championship for the third and final time after beating Miguel Pérez Jr.

1996 – Sean Morley won the WWC Television Championship in Caguas, Puerto Rico, after defeating El Bronco I. Morley held the title for the next 435 days, and was still the champion even after he’d joined the WWF as Val Venis.

1998 – APW Terra Nova Terror was held in Pacifica, California. Frank and Vic Murdoch defeated Ed Moretti and Tony Jones to become the APW Tag Team Champions.

2000 – At a taping of WCW Thunder in Nampa, Idaho, Chuck Palumbo and Shawn Stasiak defeated Kronik (Bryan Clark and Brian Adams) to become the WCW World Tag Team Champions.

If Fusient Bought WCW #138: End Of The Chase

2004 – IWA-MS Volcano Girls was held in Hammond, Indiana, and two titles changed hands on the show. Brad Bradley and Ryan Boz defeated Chris Hamrick and Tracy Smothers to win the IWA:MS Tag Team Titles and then Lacey outlasted both Daizee Haze and Mercedes Martinez in a Three-Way match to become the new NWA Midwest Women’s Champion.

2016 – CHIKARA Aniversario: The Lost World was held in Glasgow, Scotland. On the show Hallowicked defeated Princess Kimberlee by pinfall following a Yakuza Kick and hitting her with Never Wake Up to become the new CHIKARA Grand Champion.

2017 – The TV tapings for IMPACT! Wrestling were held in Mumbai, India. In the main event of the show Sonjay Dutt defeated Low Ki to win the Impact Wrestling X Division Title. This was Dutt’s 35th title shot for the X Division Title and his only successful attempt. The match would air on television on June 15th.

Notable Wrestling Birthdays:

  • No Way Jose (1988)
  • Valiente (1974)
  • Jake ‘The Snake’ Roberts (1955)

Click Banner For Ticket Info

SummerSlam Banner