On This Day In Wrestling History… May 29th

On 29th May in wrestling history, we look back at the first ever NXT TakeOver, and also the first Tag Team Title reign for Too Cool

Neville/Pac vs Tyson Kidd

Credit: WWE

1964 – In Sapporo, Japan, Giant Baba and Toyonobori won the All Asia Tag Team Titles after defeating Caripus Hurricane and Gene Kiniski. They would hold on to the titles for just over a year, with a total of 370 days as champions.

1995 – In Memphis, Tennessee, Brian Christopher defeated Doug Gilbert to win the USWA Southern Heavyweight Title for the 17th time.

2000 – WCW Monday Nitro takes place in Salt Lake City, Utah. Kevin Nash starts the show as WCW World Heavyweight Champion but forfeits the belt and gives it to Ric Flair, stating that Flair shouldn’t have been stripped of the title the week before. In the main event of the night Flair is made to defend the title against Jeff Jarrett. Jarrett gets the pin and the win after hitting Flair with a guitar to become the new WCW World Heavyweight Champion.

2000 – On an episode of WWF Monday Night Raw in Vancouver, Canada, Too Cool (Scotty 2 Hotty and Grandmaster Sexay) defeated Edge and Christian to win the WWF Tag Team Titles for the first time. The main event of the night was supposed to be the Rock and the Undertaker in a Lumberjack match but instead they decided to attack all of the heels at ringside. When ‘Taker and the Rock lost the upper hand a returning Kane came out to make the save.

WWE Money In The Bank 2021: Date, Start Time, Matches, How To Watch, Streaming

2004 – IWA-MS A Shot of Southern Comfort took place in Highland, Indiana. Petey Williams outlasts Alex Shelley, Austin Aries, Delirious, Jimmy Jacobs, Roderick Strong, and Spyder Nate Webb in a 7-Way Elimination match to earn an immediate title shot against B.J. Whitmer. Williams defeats Whitmer with a Canadian Destroyer to become the new IWA:MS Heavyweight Champion. In the main event of the night Southern Comfort (Chris Hamrick and Tracy Smothers) beat The Second City Saints (C. M. Punk and Colt Cabana) to win the newly reinstated IWA:MS Tag Team Titles.

2005 – At the wXw Fans Appreciation Night in Essen, Germany, Violent Tom becomes the new wXw Hardcore Champion after outlasting Chris Ramirez, Dr. D, EnRage, HATE, John Wayne Gacy, Mad Cow, SigMasta Rappo, and Tyrant in a Hardcore Invitational match.

2009 – PWS Brawl for Paul took place in Garfield, New Jersey. Devious and Wes Draven became the new PWS Tag Team Champions after winning a Four-Way Elimination Tag match which also featured the teams of Bruce Maxwell and T. J. Cannon, Davey Cash and Kris Pyro, and Javi-Air and The Dynamic Sensation. Later in the show Trent Acid won the PWS Heavyweight Title after outlasting Balls Mahoney, Devon Moore, and Grim Reefer in a Four-Way Elimination match but Trent then lost the belt in the main event to Butterbean.

2010 – TAJIRI became the new FCP Finnish Heavyweight Champion after defeating Valentine at SMASH in Tokto, Japan.

On This Day in Wrestling History...21st June

2010 – OVW All or Nothing was held in Louisville, Kentucky. In the main event of the show Mike Mondo beat Beef Wellington to become the new OVW Heavyweight Title holder.

2014 – The first ever NXT TakeOver was held at the Full Sail University in Winter Park, Florida. On the show:

  • In a preshow match, Bayley defeated Sasha Banks.
  • Adam Rose defeated Camacho after hitting him with the ‘Party Foul’ to get the pin.
  • The Ascension (Konnor and Viktor) defeated El Local and Kalisto to retain the NXT Tag Team Championship, with Viktor getting the pin on El Local.
  • Tyler Breeze defeated Sami Zayn to become the #1 contender for the NXT Championship.
  • Charlotte defeated Natalya in a tournament final to win the vacant NXT Womens Championship.
  • In the main event of the show Adrian Neville defeated Tyson Kidd to retain the NXT Championship after hitting him with the ‘Red Arrow’ and getting the three-count.

2014 – On Day Eight of the AJPW Super Power Series in Tokyo, Japan, Atsushi Aoki defeated Ultimo Dragon to become the AJPW World Junior Heavyweight Champion.

2015 – HOG High Intensity 4 was held in New York. In a Three-Way Tag Team match Anthony Gangone and Joey Janela beat Angel Ortiz and Mike Draztik, and Crimson and Marq Quen to win the HOG Tag Team Titles.

On This Day In Wrestling History… June 19th

2016 – PROGRESS Chapter 30: Super Strong Style 16 Tournament Edition was held in London, England. In the main event of the show James Davis and Rob Lynch defeated El Ligero and Nathan Cruz to win the PROGRESS Tag Team Titles.

2018 – Day 10 of NOAH Navigation With Breeze was at the Korakuen Hall in Tokyo, Japan. Katsuhiko Nakajima and Masa Kitamiya became the new GHC Tag Team Champions after beating Go Shiozaki and Kaito Kiyomiya.

Notable Wrestling Birthdays:

  • Konosuke Takeshita (1995)
  • Ridge Holland (1988)
  • Hornswoggle (1986)
  • Brian Kendrick (1979)
  • Steve Corino (1973)
  • Pete Gas (1970)

Click Banner For Ticket Info

SummerSlam Banner