On This Day In Wrestling History…25th February

On 25th February in wrestling, Triple H and Steve Austin battled at WWE No Way Out in a brutal Three Stages Of Hell match.

Triple H & Steve Austin, Three Stages Of Hell

Credit: WWE

1990 – WCW and the NWA presented ‘Wrestlewar ’90: Wild Thing’ from the Greensboro Coliseum in Greensboro, North Carolina. In the main event Ric Flair defeated Lex Luger by count out to retain the NWA World Heavyweight Championship.

1995 – ECW ‘Return Of The Funker’ took place at the ECW Arena in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Naturally based on the title of the show, Terry Funk made his return after the main event with a surprise attack on Tommy Dreamer and Cactus Jack. The show saw Chris Benoit and Dean Malenko defeat Sabu and The Tazmaniac to win the ECW World Tag Team Championship.

2001 – WWF ‘No Way Out’ took place at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas, Nevada. The show featured a double main event. The first part of which saw HHH defeat ‘Stone Cold’ Steve Austin 2-1 in a Three Stages Of Hell match. In the final match of the night, The Rock became the first ever six time WWF Champion with a win over Kurt Angle.

2013 – On an episode of Monday Night Raw, John Cena and CM Punk wrestled in one of the most acclaimed matches in Raw history. Cena’s win earned him a WWE Championship match against The Rock at WrestleMania 29.

On This Day in Wrestling History...22nd June

2017 – At Evolve 79, Zack Sabre Jr. defeated Timothy Thatcher for the EVOLVE Championship.

2018 – WWE Elimination Chamber took place at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada. The main event saw Roman Reigns won the titular Elimination Chamber match to earn a WWE Championship match at WrestleMania. He defeated John Cena, The Miz, Braun Strowman, Elias, Finn Balor and Seth Rollins in the first ever seven-participant WrestleMania match. Also on the card, Ronda Rousey’s contract signing took place.

2018 – At Progress Wrestling’s ‘Chapter 64: Thunderbastards Are Go!’, James Drake and Zack Gibson defeated Mark Haskins and Jimmy Havoc to win the Progress Tag Team Championship.

Notable Wrestling Birthdays:

  • Maria Kanellis (1982)
  • Sean O’Haire (1971)
  • Ric Flair (1949)

Click Banner For Ticket Info

SummerSlam Banner